Champlain – backed JLD-Laguë, completes the acquisition of Location Sauvageau and Location Légaré

JLD-Laguë, a Champlain Financial Corporation (“Champlain”) portfolio company, and Groupe Soucy have led the acquisition of Location Sauvageau and Location Légaré (the “Group”) in June 2022.

Luc Soucy, President of Terrebonne Ford and Founder of West Island Ford Lincoln, having over three decades of experience in vehicle dealerships, will assume the role of Executive Chairman. The current management team will continue to serve in their existing roles, leading the Group towards its next stage of growth.

Location Sauvageau and Location Légaré are the leading provider of short- and medium-term vehicles rentals for commercial and institutional clients in the province of Quebec. The Company operates a diverse fleet of 3,800+ utility vehicles mainly used in working applications, including pickups, cube & cargo trucks, SUVs, passenger vans & cars as well as, trailers, ATVs, snowmobiles, and other specialized vehicles.

“We have been impressed with Location Sauvageau and Location Légaré’s strong track record. For over 30 years, the Group has been a pillar and an instrumental player within Québec’s developmental history, and we are proud to associate with Kevin Voyer and Nathalie Légaré in continuing this remarkable story”, said Luc Soucy, President of Group Soucy.

“We are very pleased to add Location Sauvageau and Location Légaré to our portfolio of group companies. Our John Deere and Peterbilt divisions are built on providing premium workplace equipment, after market and customer service which has also been the foundation of Location Sauvageau’s and Location Légaré’s success. With the support of Champlain and Groupe Soucy, we are excited to continue to build on this strong common foundation”, said Terry Enepekides, CEO of JLD-Laguë.

“I am very pleased to leave Location Sauvageau and Location Légaré in the hands of proven Quebec owners and operators like Champlain, JLD Laguë and Groupe Soucy. With their support and current management, I am certain the future growth and success of these great operations will lead them to become National leaders in the commercial and short-term rental market”, said Jacquelin Voyer, Founder of Location Sauvageau.

“I am very excited to continue to lead Location Légaré and help capture the exciting growth opportunities before us with our new partners”, said Nathalie Légaré, Director of Operations, Locations Légaré.

RCGT Corporate Finance served as financial advisors on behalf of the sellers.

Financial terms of the transaction were not disclosed.

 

 

 

 

 

ABOUT CHAMPLAIN FINANCIAL CORPORATION

Champlain is a Canadian private holding company that has been based in Montreal since 2004. It has over $800 million in assets under management through a portfolio of 22 companies located primarily in Québec and operating in the consumer goods, food processing, retail, and distribution sectors. Its investment portfolio in Québec includes JLD Laguë (John Deere), La Canadienne, Wong Wing, Boulangerie Dumas, Louis Garneau, Kanuk, Jardins de Ville, Maison Corbeil, Must Société, Les Épices Dion, Les Eaux Naya, Brault & Bouthillier, Beach Day Every Day, Grandio Group (La Cage aux Sports), Transport Inter-Nord and Orthofab.

ABOUT JLD-LAGUË

JLD-Laguë is a leading Canadian equipment and truck dealership network established across Quebec and Eastern Ontario. The company is involved in the sale, resale, and servicing of John Deere agricultural, commercial, residential, and compact construction markets as well as the Peterbilt truck market. JLD-Laguë operates 16 John Deere branches across eastern Ontario and Quebec under the JLD-Laguë, Maltais & Ouellet and Green Tech banners, 5 Peterbilt Truck branches under the TransDiff and JDH banner in Central Quebec as well as the recent addition of Fardiers Quebec which is in the sale and servicing of premium trailers.

ABOUT GROUPE SOUCY

Groupe Soucy operates two Ford dealerships, Terrebonne Ford since 1991 and West Island Ford Lincoln since 2013. The Group manages a portfolio of long-term leases comprising of commercial and luxury vehicles. In addition, Groupe Soucy’s commercial real estate holdings include the dealers and the buildings of Sauvageau and Légaré for a total of 12 buildings and 1.8 million square feet of land.

JLD-Laguë, mené par Champlain, complète l’acquisition de location Sauvageau et de Location Légaré

JLD-Laguë, une société du portefeuille de la Corporation Financière Champlain (« Champlain »), et le Groupe Soucy ont mené l’acquisition de Location Sauvageau et Location Légaré (le « Groupe ») en juin 2022.

Luc Soucy, président de Terrebonne Ford et fondateur de West Island Ford Lincoln, ayant plus de trois décennies d’expérience dans les concessions automobiles, assumera le rôle de président exécutif du conseil. L’équipe de direction actuelle continueront d’assumer leurs rôles, menant le Groupe vers sa prochaine étape de croissance.

Location Sauvageau et Location Légaré sont les principaux fournisseurs de location de véhicules à court et à moyen terme pour les clients commerciaux et institutionnels dans la province de Québec. L’entreprise exploite un parc diversifié de plus de 3 800 véhicules utilitaires utilisés principalement pour des applications de travail, y compris des camionnettes, des camions cubes et des camions-cargos, des VUS, des fourgonnettes et des voitures, ainsi que des remorques, des VTT, des motoneiges et d’autres véhicules spécialisés.

« Nous avons été impressionnés par les solides antécédents de Location Sauvageau et Location Légaré. Depuis plus de 30 ans, le groupe a été un pilier et un acteur de l’histoire développemental au Québec, et nous sommes fiers de nous associer à Kevin Voyer et Nathalie Légaré dans la continuation de cette remarquable histoire. » explique Luc Soucy, président du Groupe Soucy.

« Nous sommes très heureux d’ajouter Location Sauvageau et Location Légaré à notre portefeuille d’investissements. Nos divisions John Deere et Peterbilt sont fondées sur l’offre d’équipement de travail, de service après-vente et de service à la clientèle de qualité supérieure, ce qui a également été le fondement du succès de Location Sauvageau et de Location Légaré. Avec le soutien de Champlain et du Groupe Soucy, nous sommes enthousiastes à l’idée de continuer à bâtir sur cette solide fondation commune. » a déclare Terry Enepekides, PDG de JLD-Laguë.

« Je suis très heureux de déléguer Location Sauvageau et Location Légaré entre les mains des propriétaires et opérateurs québécois éprouvés comme Champlain, JLD-Laguë et Groupe Soucy. Avec la force de leur équipe de gestion et leur soutien, je suis certain que la croissance et les succès futurs de l’entreprise les amèneront à devenir des leaders nationaux dans le marché de la location commerciale et à court terme. » a mentionne Jacquelin Voyer, fondateur de Location Sauvageau.

« Je suis très enthousiaste à l’idée de continuer à diriger Location Légaré et de contribuer à saisir les opportunités de croissance passionnantes qui s’offrent à nous avec nos nouveaux partenaires. » dit Nathalie Légaré, présidente opérations de Location Légaré.

RCGT Corporate Finance a fait office de conseiller financier pour les vendeurs.

Les conditions financières de la transaction n’ont pas été divulguées.

 

À PROPOS DE LA CORPORATION FINANCIÈRE CHAMPLAIN

Champlain est une société canadienne de placements privés établie à Montréal depuis 2004. Elle gère des actifs sous gestion de plus de $800MM à travers un portefeuille de 22 compagnies situées principalement au Québec oeuvrant dans les industries des produits de consommation, de la transformation alimentaire, du commerce au détail et de la distribution. Parmi ses investissements au Québec, on compte ceux dans les entreprises suivantes: JLD-Laguë (John Deere), La Canadienne, Wong Wing, Boulangerie Dumas, Louis Garneau, Kanuk, Jardins de Ville, Maison Corbeil, Must Société, Les Épices Dion, Les Eaux Naya, Brault & Bouthillier, Beach Day Every Day, Groupe Grandio (La Cage), Transport Inter-Nord et Orthofab.

À PROPOS DE JLD-LAGUË

JLD-Laguë opère un des principaux réseaux canadiens de concessionnaires d’équipement et de camions établis à travers le Québec et l’Est de l’Ontario. L’entreprise est impliquée dans la vente, la revente et l’entretien des produits John Deere sur le marché agricole, commerciale, résidentielle et compacte de construction. Elle est aussi présente avec les produits Peterbilt sur le marché du camion. JLD-Laguë exploite 16 succursales John Deere dans l’est de l’Ontario et au Québec sous les bannières JLD-Laguë, Maltais & Ouellet et Green Tech, 5 succursales Peterbilt Truck sous les bannières TransDiff et JDH dans le centre du Québec ainsi que l’ajout récent de Fardiers Québec dans la vente et l’entretien de remorques haut de gamme.

À PROPOS DU GROUPE SOUCY

Le Groupe Soucy exploite deux concessionnaires Ford, Terrebonne Ford depuis 1991 et West Island Ford Lincoln depuis 2013. Le groupe gère un portefeuille de baux à long terme comprenant des véhicules commerciaux et de luxe. De plus, le parc immobilier commercial du Groupe Soucy comprend les concessionnaires et les immeubles de Sauvageau et Légaré pour un total de 12 immeubles et 1,8 million de pieds carrés de terrain.